Skip to content

Best picks

Best Sunrise Alarm Clocks: Hatch Restore 3 vs Loftie vs Philips vs Lumie

Sunrise alarm clocks compared on what you'll live with: sunrise length, light, sounds, radio, power-cut backup, and whether you need an app or a subscription.

By thisHUSH EditorialUpdated November 2, 202612 min read3 picks

thisHUSH covers comfort, quiet and air-quality gear, not health. Nothing on this site is medical advice: for sleep, breathing or hearing concerns, talk to a doctor.

Our picks at a glance

  1. Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise Alarm Clock and Sound Machine (Putty)
    1

    Best sunrise plus sound machine

    Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise Alarm Clock and Sound Machine (Putty)

    Sunrise alarm (red to orange to white light) plus a bedside light

    Comes in 6 versions: see which to buy

    See on Amazon
  2. Philips SmartSleep Wake-up Light HF3520
    2

    Brightest published light

    Philips SmartSleep Wake-up Light HF3520

    Coloured sunrise (red, orange, yellow) up to 300 lux; 20 brightness settings; sunset mode

    Comes in 5 versions: see which to buy

    See on Amazon
  3. Loftie Clock Two-Phase Alarm Clock (Black)
    3

    Best phone-free alarm clock

    Loftie Clock Two-Phase Alarm Clock (Black)

    Adjustable night light (can switch on with the alarm); not a sunrise lamp

    Comes in 8 versions: see which to buy

    See on Amazon

For most bedrooms, the Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 is the sunrise alarm clock to get: a sunrise and sunset you can set anywhere from 15 to 90 minutes, 15 sounds and an FM radio, a display that can switch off entirely at night, and no app or account. If you want a sound machine built in, the Hatch Restore 3 pairs a sunrise alarm with Hatch's sound library, but setup needs the Hatch Sleep app and starts a Hatch+ trial that renews unless you cancel. The Philips SmartSleep HF3520 is the only one here with a published brightness, up to 300 lux. And the Loftie Clock isn't a sunrise lamp at all: it's the pick for a phone-free alarm clock with a gentler two-stage alarm.

What you'll live with every morning isn't the marketing; it's the sunrise length, the sounds, whether it needs your phone, and what happens in a power cut. Specs, app and subscription terms checked November 1, 2026.

  • 15 to 90 minLumie Shine 300's adjustable sunrise and sunset
  • 300 luxPhilips HF3520's maximum light intensity, the only published figure here
  • 100+Sounds on the Loftie Clock, with no subscription

Quick picks

Pick Best for Sunrise Sounds and radio App needed
Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 Best overall, no app 15 to 90 min, plus sunset 15 sounds, FM radio No
Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise plus a sound machine Red to orange to white before the alarm sound Sleep sounds; premium library with Hatch+ For setup and registration
Philips SmartSleep HF3520 Brightest published light 20 to 40 min, up to 300 lux, plus sunset 5 wake-up sounds, FM radio No
Loftie Clock Phone-free alarm clock (no sunrise) None; night light can come on with the alarm 100+ sounds, no subscription For initial setup only
Side by sideCompare a sunrise ramp with an alarm lightLumie and Philips document adjustable sunrise-duration ranges. Loftie Clock offers an alarm-linked night light without a sunrise ramp.

Tap a label to explore. You can also hover or use your keyboard.

Scroll across to see every column

Compare a sunrise ramp with an alarm light
OptionSunrise durationLight behavior
Adjustable sunrise duration
15–90 minutesAdjustable sunrise ramp
Adjustable sunrise duration
20–40 minutesAdjustable sunrise ramp
Alarm-linked night light

Loftie says the Clock is not a sunrise alarm. Its night light can be set to turn on with alarms.

Sources: 3: Loftie says its Clock is not a sunrise alarm, but its night light can turn on with alarms.
No sunrise rampNight light can turn on with alarms

Bars start at zero and share a scale within each column.

The ranges give the documented minimum and maximum durations. They describe timing; brightness and adjustment step sizes are separate features.

Source notes5 references
  1. Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 offers a sunrise and sunset lasting 15 to 90 minutes.

    www.lumie.com — source for Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 offers a sunrise and sunset lasting 15 to 90 minutes.
    15-90 minute sunrise/sunset duration, 15 sounds, FM radio, tap-control snooze, choice of light intensity, daily/weekly alarm and more.
  2. The Philips SmartSleep HF3520/60 leaflet specifies an adjustable sunrise-simulating process of 20 to 40 minutes.

    www.documents.philips.com — source for The Philips SmartSleep HF3520/60 leaflet specifies an adjustable sunrise-simulating process of 20 to 40 minutes.
    Sunrise simulating process: adjustable 20-40 Power Output Adapter: 12W Display brightness control: Self adjusting minutes
  3. Loftie says its Clock is not a sunrise alarm, but its night light can turn on with alarms.

    loftie.com — source for Loftie says its Clock is not a sunrise alarm, but its night light can turn on with alarms.
    The Loftie Clock is not a sunrise alarm. However, the night light of the clock can be set to turn on with your alarms.
  4. Lumie identifies this model as the Bodyclock Shine 300.

    www.lumie.com — source for Lumie identifies this model as the Bodyclock Shine 300.
    Lumie® Bodyclock Shine 300 Wake-up Light Radio Alarm Clock
  5. The Philips SmartSleep leaflet identifies the Wake-up Light as HF3520/60.

    www.documents.philips.com — source for The Philips SmartSleep leaflet identifies the Wake-up Light as HF3520/60.
    Wake-up Light HF3520/60

The phone-free bedside table

Most people buy one of these to keep the phone out of the bedroom, so here is what each one needs and does, from each maker's own pages:

Lumie Shine 300 Hatch Restore 3 Philips HF3520 Loftie Clock
Sunrise length 15 to 90 min Your choice, set in the app 20 to 40 min No sunrise
Sunset (lights dim at bedtime) Yes, 15 to 90 min Not stated Yes No
Published brightness Not on the US page Not stated Up to 300 lux, 20 settings Not stated
Sounds 15, including white noise Built-in sleep sounds; more with Hatch+ 5 wake-up sounds 100+, including white and brown noise
FM radio Yes Not listed Yes Not listed
App None Hatch Sleep app for setup and registration None Loftie app for setup
Wi-Fi None 2.4 GHz required None 2.4 GHz for setup and updates
Subscription None Hatch+ trial starts at setup and renews unless cancelled None None
Power cut Not stated Not listed Time backup, 4 to 8 hours Backup battery, about 5 hours
Display at night Dims or switches off Dimmable clock Dims itself in a dark room; 4 levels Dimmable, with blackout mode
Warranty 3 years limited 1 year Not in Philips's product data 1 year

Best overall: Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300

The Shine 300 does the most without asking anything of your phone. Its sunrise and sunset each run for anywhere from 15 to 90 minutes, the sunrise intensity is adjustable, and its LEDs run through warm white, orange and red. It doubles as a fully dimmable bedside light with a night light option.

For the alarm, you get daily or weekly schedules, tap-control snooze, 15 sleep and wake sounds (from a plain beep to waves and white noise) and an FM radio. Lumie says its light-sensitive display "fades to low or switches off entirely at night," so it won't light up the room after you've gone to bed. Lumie backs it with a 3-year limited warranty, the longest here.

The trade-offs: at 21 cm (8.3 in) wide it needs more nightstand space than a clock, Lumie's US page publishes no lux figure, and there's no app or Bluetooth audio. Buying from a third party? Check the listing is the US model with a US plug.

See the Bodyclock Shine 300 at Lumie

Best sunrise plus sound machine: Hatch Restore 3

The Restore 3 combines a sunrise alarm, a sleep sound machine, a bedside light and a dimmable clock. Hatch describes the sunrise as moving "from red to orange to white before your chosen alarm sound plays," and most controls are on the device itself.

Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise Alarm Clock and Sound Machine (Putty)
Best sunrise plus sound machine

Hatch

Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise Alarm Clock and Sound Machine (Putty)

A bedside sunrise alarm, reading light and sound machine with a dimmable clock and on-device controls, set up through the Hatch Sleep app.

Comes in 6 versions: see which to buy

  • Sunrise alarm (red to orange to white light) plus a bedside light

The catch is setup. Hatch says you need the free Hatch Sleep app "to set up and register your device," and a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection is required; your routines are customized in the app too. After registration, you can use the Restore phone-free. The subscription is the part to watch. The Restore 3 comes with 30 days of Hatch+, and Hatch's help centre says "you are required to set up a free trial of the subscription as a part of set up" (its product FAQ calls it an option). The trial renews into a monthly or annual plan unless you cancel before the renewal date (we don't print fees). Cancel and, in Hatch's words, "your Hatch Restore will still work, but you'll have access to basic features and core content only."

Hatch lists no radio or battery backup, and the warranty is one year. If you mainly want sound, our best white noise machines cover dedicated machines with no app.

Check price on Amazon

Brightest published light: Philips SmartSleep HF3520

Philips's classic wake-up light is the only one here with a brightness figure: up to 300 lux, across 20 brightness settings. The sunrise is coloured, running from red to orange to yellow, and you can set it from 20 to 40 minutes. There's a sunset mode that dims the light at bedtime, too.

Philips SmartSleep Wake-up Light HF3520
Brightest published light

Philips

Philips SmartSleep Wake-up Light HF3520

Philips's classic sunrise alarm lamp: a coloured 20-40 minute sunrise up to 300 lux, a sunset mode, five wake-up sounds and an FM radio, with no app.

Comes in 5 versions: see which to buy

  • Coloured sunrise (red, orange, yellow) up to 300 lux; 20 brightness settings; sunset mode

It wakes you with one of five natural sounds or the FM radio, holds two alarm times, and snoozes for 9 minutes when you tap the lamp. The display dims itself in a dark room, with four brightness levels. There's no app and no phone audio, so setup happens on the lamp.

For power cuts, Philips lists a "time backup" of 4 to 8 hours, so the clock keeps its time through a short outage. It runs on 100-240 V, measures 19.2 x 19.9 x 14.6 cm and weighs 730 g. Check that the listing's model number is HF3520.

Check price on Amazon

Best phone-free alarm clock: Loftie Clock

The Loftie Clock is here because it's what many people actually want from a "smart alarm clock": no phone on the nightstand. Loftie is clear that it's "not a sunrise alarm," but its night light can be set to come on with your alarms.

Loftie Clock Two-Phase Alarm Clock (Black)
Best phone-free alarm clock

Loftie

Loftie Clock Two-Phase Alarm Clock (Black)

A phone-free bedside alarm clock with a two-phase alarm, 100+ built-in sounds, a night light and a backup battery, with no subscription.

Comes in 8 versions: see which to buy

  • Adjustable night light (can switch on with the alarm); not a sunrise lamp

Its signature is a two-phase alarm. Phase one plays a soft sound for 30 to 40 seconds, then snoozes itself; phase two plays a get-up melody when the snooze ends, after 0, 3, 6 or 9 minutes (9 unless you change it, per Loftie's support page). It has 100+ built-in sounds (nature sounds, white and brown noise, sound baths, meditations and breathwork), a sleep timer, a dimmable display with a blackout mode, a Red Mode that turns the display red, and no subscription.

Setup takes the Loftie app and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi once; after that Loftie says "Alarms run on the Clock itself" and it has a No Wi-Fi Mode. Loftie designs the clock to live plugged in, with a backup battery that keeps the alarm working through a power cut: about 5 hours, per its feature list and support page (its product FAQ says 5 to 7). It measures 6.5 x 2.75 x 2.75 in and weighs 1.8 lb.

Check price on Amazon

How we choose

We haven't lab-tested these clocks. Every pick comes from research:

  • Spec sheets and FAQs. Sunrise length, light, sounds, radio, backup and warranty come from each maker's product page or product data, linked in each section.
  • Setup and terms. Whether the clock needs an app, Wi-Fi or a subscription, checked November 1, 2026. We never print subscription fees.
  • The bedside test, on paper. Display dimming, power-cut behavior and nightstand size, the things you live with every night.
  • No health claims. We describe what the light and sound do, not what they do for your body.

Our full method is on How we choose.

Buying guide

Sunrise length and brightness. Lumie lets you set 15 to 90 minutes, Philips 20 to 40. Philips is the only maker here that publishes a brightness, up to 300 lux; read "bright" without a number as a claim.

Side by sideCompare a sunrise ramp with an alarm lightLumie and Philips document adjustable sunrise-duration ranges. Loftie Clock offers an alarm-linked night light without a sunrise ramp.

Tap a label to explore. You can also hover or use your keyboard.

Scroll across to see every column

Compare a sunrise ramp with an alarm light
OptionSunrise durationLight behavior
Adjustable sunrise duration
15–90 minutesAdjustable sunrise ramp
Adjustable sunrise duration
20–40 minutesAdjustable sunrise ramp
Alarm-linked night light

Loftie says the Clock is not a sunrise alarm. Its night light can be set to turn on with alarms.

Sources: 3: Loftie says its Clock is not a sunrise alarm, but its night light can turn on with alarms.
No sunrise rampNight light can turn on with alarms

Bars start at zero and share a scale within each column.

The ranges give the documented minimum and maximum durations. They describe timing; brightness and adjustment step sizes are separate features.

Source notes5 references
  1. Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 offers a sunrise and sunset lasting 15 to 90 minutes.

    www.lumie.com — source for Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 offers a sunrise and sunset lasting 15 to 90 minutes.
    15-90 minute sunrise/sunset duration, 15 sounds, FM radio, tap-control snooze, choice of light intensity, daily/weekly alarm and more.
  2. The Philips SmartSleep HF3520/60 leaflet specifies an adjustable sunrise-simulating process of 20 to 40 minutes.

    www.documents.philips.com — source for The Philips SmartSleep HF3520/60 leaflet specifies an adjustable sunrise-simulating process of 20 to 40 minutes.
    Sunrise simulating process: adjustable 20-40 Power Output Adapter: 12W Display brightness control: Self adjusting minutes
  3. Loftie says its Clock is not a sunrise alarm, but its night light can turn on with alarms.

    loftie.com — source for Loftie says its Clock is not a sunrise alarm, but its night light can turn on with alarms.
    The Loftie Clock is not a sunrise alarm. However, the night light of the clock can be set to turn on with your alarms.
  4. Lumie identifies this model as the Bodyclock Shine 300.

    www.lumie.com — source for Lumie identifies this model as the Bodyclock Shine 300.
    Lumie® Bodyclock Shine 300 Wake-up Light Radio Alarm Clock
  5. The Philips SmartSleep leaflet identifies the Wake-up Light as HF3520/60.

    www.documents.philips.com — source for The Philips SmartSleep leaflet identifies the Wake-up Light as HF3520/60.
    Wake-up Light HF3520/60

Sounds. If you want a sound machine at night, the Hatch Restore 3 and Lumie Shine 300 both play sleep sounds, and the Loftie Clock has the largest library with no subscription. The Philips HF3520's five sounds are for waking up. For white, pink or brown noise specifically, see our white vs pink vs brown noise guide.

Power cuts. Loftie's backup battery runs the clock for about 5 hours unplugged. Philips lists a 4- to 8-hour time backup, so the clock keeps its time through a short outage. Lumie and Hatch publish nothing on it.

Verdict

The Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 is the best sunrise alarm clock for most bedrooms: an adjustable 15- to 90-minute sunrise and sunset, 15 sounds, FM radio and no app, backed by a 3-year warranty. Choose the Hatch Restore 3 if you want a sound machine and a sunrise in one and don't mind app setup, or the Philips SmartSleep HF3520 for the brightest published light. If what you really want is a phone-free alarm clock rather than a sunrise lamp, get the Loftie Clock.

Sources

Specs, app and subscription terms checked November 1, 2026:

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a subscription for the Hatch Restore 3?

Not to keep using it, but setup starts a trial. Hatch's help centre says you're required to set up a free Hatch+ trial as part of setup (its product FAQ calls it an option). You can cancel any time and keep basic features and core content; Hatch says to cancel before the renewal date to avoid being charged. You also need the free Hatch Sleep app and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi to set up and register the clock. Checked November 1, 2026.

Is the Loftie Clock a sunrise alarm?

No. Loftie says plainly that the Loftie Clock is not a sunrise alarm, although its night light can be set to turn on with your alarms. Its strengths are a two-phase alarm, 100+ built-in sounds with no subscription, and running without your phone or Wi-Fi after setup. Loftie points people who want a light-based wake-up to its separate Loftie Lamp.

Which sunrise alarm clocks work without an app?

The Philips SmartSleep HF3520 and the Lumie Bodyclock Shine 300 are set up and used entirely on the device; Philips lists no app control, and Lumie lists none. The Hatch Restore 3 needs the Hatch Sleep app and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup and registration, and the Loftie Clock needs its app only for initial setup, then has a No Wi-Fi Mode.

Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise Alarm Clock and Sound Machine (Putty)

Best sunrise plus sound machine

Hatch Restore 3 Sunrise Alarm Clock and Sound Machine (Putty)

See on Amazon