Skip to content

Comparison

Canopy Bedside 2.0 vs Large Room

Refills, Filters and Controls

Choose a Canopy humidifier for a bedroom or connected living space. Compare refills, Auto Mode, filter fit, cleaning and bundle contents before ordering.

By thisHUSH EditorialUpdated November 3, 20267 min read

On this page · Quick picks
About this guide

thisHUSH covers comfort, quiet and air-quality gear, not health. Nothing on this site is medical advice: for sleep, breathing or hearing concerns, talk to a doctor.

Choose the Canopy Bedside Humidifier 2.0 for an enclosed bedroom: Canopy claims up to 500 sq ft, with a 2.5-liter tank and built-in light and sound features. Choose the Canopy Large Room Humidifier for a larger connected living space within its claimed 1,000 sq ft, but keep a separate hygrometer: both models' Auto Mode responds to light rather than a humidity target. Buy Large Room for its stated coverage, rather than assuming its refill interval will be longer.

Quick picks

  • Enclosed bedroom: Bedside Humidifier 2.0, especially when its light and sound controls are useful.
  • Larger connected space: Large Room Humidifier, with realistic expectations about the maker's coverage and runtime claims.
  • Automatic control to a chosen humidity: choose neither on that requirement; their documented Auto Mode controls fan speed from light.

For alternatives, see our bedroom humidifier guide and large-room humidifier guide.

Bedside 2.0 vs Large Room at a glance

These are Canopy's specifications and documented controls, not a comparative performance test.

Compare specifications and all conditions

Coverage, maker claim

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Up to 500 sq ft
Large Room Humidifier
Up to 1,000 sq ft

Tank capacity

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
2.5 liters
Large Room Humidifier
Not stated in the current product description; confirm before buying for capacity

Runtime, maker wording

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Up to 36 hours; manual says tank-emptying time varies with room humidity
Large Room Humidifier
18 to 36 hours, depending on room relative humidity

Refill access

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Remove tank, fill it and seal cap
Large Room Humidifier
Remove tank, fill it and seal cap

Auto Mode

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Light sensor; low by day, medium at night
Large Room Humidifier
Light sensor; low by day, medium at night

Selectable humidity target

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Not shown in documented controls
Large Room Humidifier
Not shown in documented controls

Bedside extras

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Dimmable light and 3 soundscapes
Large Room Humidifier
Those features are not shown in the Plus manual

Replacement family

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Humidifier Filter 2.0, also fits original Bedside and Nursery models
Large Room Humidifier
Large Humidifier Filter, separate fit

Dishwasher baseline

Bedside Humidifier 2.0
Tank, cap and tray; see grille qualification below
Large Room Humidifier
Tank, cap and tray; see grille qualification below
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

Decision pointBedside Humidifier 2.0Large Room Humidifier
Coverage, maker claimUp to 500 sq ftUp to 1,000 sq ft
Tank capacity2.5 litersNot stated in the current product description; confirm before buying for capacity
Runtime, maker wordingUp to 36 hours; manual says tank-emptying time varies with room humidity18 to 36 hours, depending on room relative humidity
Refill accessRemove tank, fill it and seal capRemove tank, fill it and seal cap
Auto ModeLight sensor; low by day, medium at nightLight sensor; low by day, medium at night
Selectable humidity targetNot shown in documented controlsNot shown in documented controls
Bedside extrasDimmable light and 3 soundscapesThose features are not shown in the Plus manual
Replacement familyHumidifier Filter 2.0, also fits original Bedside and Nursery modelsLarge Humidifier Filter, separate fit
Dishwasher baselineTank, cap and tray; see grille qualification belowTank, cap and tray; see grille qualification below
Decision pointBedside Humidifier 2.0Large Room Humidifier
Coverage, maker claimUp to 500 sq ftUp to 1,000 sq ft
Tank capacity2.5 litersNot stated in the current product description; confirm before buying for capacity
Runtime, maker wordingUp to 36 hours; manual says tank-emptying time varies with room humidity18 to 36 hours, depending on room relative humidity
Refill accessRemove tank, fill it and seal capRemove tank, fill it and seal cap
Auto ModeLight sensor; low by day, medium at nightLight sensor; low by day, medium at night
Selectable humidity targetNot shown in documented controlsNot shown in documented controls
Bedside extrasDimmable light and 3 soundscapesThose features are not shown in the Plus manual
Replacement familyHumidifier Filter 2.0, also fits original Bedside and Nursery modelsLarge Humidifier Filter, separate fit
Dishwasher baselineTank, cap and tray; see grille qualification belowTank, cap and tray; see grille qualification below

Sources: Canopy's Bedside listing, Large Room listing, Bedside manual and Plus manual.

Best for an enclosed bedroom: Canopy Bedside Humidifier 2.0

Bedside 2.0 is our default for a bedroom within its stated coverage. Its 2.5-liter tank, tap-water compatibility, dimmable red light, night light and 3 soundscapes make it the more useful choice when you want those bedside controls. The existing Cream version corresponds to maker SKU CAN-HM2-CRE; confirm the generation and finish together.

Its advertised up to 36 hours is a conditional runtime, not a cleaning schedule. The manual says the time to empty a tank varies with room humidity. EPA separately recommends emptying, drying and refilling portable humidifiers daily, so a long runtime does not justify leaving yesterday's water indefinitely.

Refilling is a removable-tank routine. The manual tells you to remove the tank, fill it and seal the cap. Plan a convenient trip to the sink; don't assume this is a pour-through top-fill reservoir.

See the Bedside Humidifier 2.0 at Canopy.

Best for a larger connected space: Canopy Large Room Humidifier

Choose Large Room when you need Canopy's larger up-to-1,000-sq-ft coverage claim. The White version is K-CAN-HUM-WHI-L2 in the current maker catalog. Canopy's product URL still says Humidifier Plus, and the linked manual is titled The Humidifier Plus: these names belong in the same model check.

The current description promises 18 to 36 hours depending on room relative humidity, but omits tank capacity in liters. If fewer refills are your main reason to upgrade, ask Canopy to confirm that capacity and your expected operating conditions before ordering. The published runtime does not promise a longer interval than Bedside's maximum.

The Plus manual also specifies removing the tank and sealing its cap after filling. Regard carrying and washing the reservoir as part of the choice. For a demanding open plan, compare other models in our large-room guide before deciding from a maximum floor-area claim alone.

See the Large Room Humidifier at Canopy.

Identify the generation and package

Bedside 2.0 and original Bedside: require the exact generation on the listing. A listing merely called “Canopy Bedside” does not establish that it includes the current model's light and sound features. Filter compatibility is broader: Canopy explicitly lists Filter 2.0 for all Bedside and Nursery versions.

Nursery 2.0: Canopy lists this separately, with the same 2.5-liter tank and up-to-500-sq-ft claim. Check its package contents instead of treating “Nursery” as the larger size.

Humidifier and purifier bundles: Canopy also sells an All-in-One Humidifier & Purifier that combines separate devices. This comparison covers the standalone humidifiers; a purifier bundle is a different box to verify.

Auto Mode follows light, not your humidity reading

Both manuals describe low fan speed by day and medium at night, selected by an embedded light sensor. They also show low, medium and high manual settings. Our reading of those controls is straightforward: Auto Mode does not let you choose a relative-humidity set point.

The water sensor does a different job. Canopy says the fan can reactivate while water remains in the tray or the filter is damp, continuing until the unit dries. Pressing the power button therefore does not necessarily keep a wet unit off. For cleaning or putting it away, follow the manual's instruction to unplug and empty it.

Don't choose a noise winner from these controls. The cited manuals provide no comparable sound measurements at matched fan settings.

Buy the matching replacement filter

Canopy's shortened catalog titles are Humidifier Filter 2.0 and Large Humidifier Filter. Its fit descriptions supply the essential distinction:

Humidifier Filter 2.0

Exact fit
All Bedside and Nursery versions; explicitly excludes Large Room
Package to match
Single filter, SKU CAN-FLT-BD3; separate 2-pack and 3-pack listings exist

Large Humidifier Filter

Exact fit
Large Room
Package to match
Single-filter package, SKU CAN-FLT-LG2; do not substitute the bedside pack
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

ReplacementExact fitPackage to match
Humidifier Filter 2.0All Bedside and Nursery versions; explicitly excludes Large RoomSingle filter, SKU CAN-FLT-BD3; separate 2-pack and 3-pack listings exist
Large Humidifier FilterLarge RoomSingle-filter package, SKU CAN-FLT-LG2; do not substitute the bedside pack
ReplacementExact fitPackage to match
Humidifier Filter 2.0All Bedside and Nursery versions; explicitly excludes Large RoomSingle filter, SKU CAN-FLT-BD3; separate 2-pack and 3-pack listings exist
Large Humidifier FilterLarge RoomSingle-filter package, SKU CAN-FLT-LG2; do not substitute the bedside pack

Both replacement descriptions list wood pulp, MERV 5 pre-filtering and replacement every 45 days. The Plus manual expresses the routine as 5–7 weeks, with use and water hardness affecting replacement. Watch the filter's condition as well as its reminder light.

  • Yes: Filter 2.0 fits Bedside and Nursery, including earlier versions
  • Yes: Large Room needs the separate Large Humidifier Filter
  • No: Filter 2.0 does not fit Large Room

Pack quantity and delivery frequency are separate decisions. Canopy's Bedside filter selector lists 1, 2, 3 and 8 filters, plus a filter-and-aroma option. Confirm both the quantity and whether the selection renews; a pack label alone doesn't establish the delivery plan.

Cleaning access: useful, with a grille qualification

The manuals permit top-rack washing of the tank, cap and tray and exclude the filter and electrical body. Wipe the water-sensing probes by hand.

Canopy's general FAQ additionally lists the grill as dishwasher-safe. The Plus manual's dishwasher list is narrower, and the Bedside manual also instructs you to hand-wash its removable grill. Hand-wash the grille unless the instructions supplied with your version explicitly permit dishwasher cleaning. That resolves the wording conservatively without putting the fan body in the machine.

EPA recommends fresh water daily and cleaning portable humidifiers every third day. Filter replacement does not replace that routine. Follow Canopy's instructions for parts and cleaning products.

Buying guide: humidity and white dust

Both models use evaporation and permit tap water. EPA explains that evaporative humidifiers move air through moistened material and are not expected to disperse substantial amounts of minerals. That is a useful reason to consider them for white-dust concerns, without promising that every surface will remain deposit-free. Our evaporative vs ultrasonic guide explains the mechanism choice.

Use a separate hygrometer and avoid humidifying above 50 percent relative humidity, following EPA's humidifier guidance. If condensation appears, EPA advises relocating the unit, lowering its setting or reducing use. Canopy's placement instructions call for a level, water-resistant surface at least 6 inches (15 cm) from walls and furniture, out of children's reach.

  1. Read the room humidity

    Use a separate hygrometer before deciding to add moisture.

  2. Set up the right model

    Use Canopy's placement instructions and install its matching filter.

  3. Check the result

    Adjust operation from the humidity reading and condensation, rather than the Auto indicator.

Our humidity and hygrometer guide covers the companion instrument.

Holiday and gift checkout checklist

  • Count appliances. Canopy's Bedside 2.0 Bundle lists 1 humidifier and 3 filters, with a Rituals Aroma Kit and sleep mask. The Duo lists 2 humidifiers and 2 filters. A Bundle and a Duo solve different shopping needs.
  • Match the filter. Confirm the device family, filter generation and pack quantity together. A purifier cartridge is a separate purchase to check if you intentionally choose a combined-device bundle.
  • Check recurring delivery. The device catalog offers one-time purchase alongside optional filter and filter-and-aroma plans with 45-day delivery wording. Read the selected plan and future shipment contents before paying or gifting.
  • Match the exact listing. Confirm the generation, color and included accessories in the order summary. For other winter gift ideas, see our quiet-tech gift guide.

How we choose

This is a comparison of manufacturer product data, manuals, replacement-filter compatibility and EPA equipment-care guidance. Coverage and runtime remain manufacturer claims. Our recommendations prioritize room choice, documented controls, refill access and upkeep; they do not establish measured output or a quietest model. The manufacturer's current product descriptions omit Large Room's liter capacity, so it is left unconfirmed here.

See How we choose for the site's research method. Product and support details checked November 2, 2026.

Verdict

Bedside 2.0 is the pick for an enclosed bedroom, particularly when its light and sound controls are useful. Large Room is the pick for the larger coverage claim, with its own filter family. For either, buy the exact package, check recurring delivery and use a hygrometer: light-controlled Auto Mode is not a humidity target.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Which Canopy humidifier should I buy for a bedroom?

Choose Bedside Humidifier 2.0 for an enclosed bedroom within Canopy's claimed coverage of up to 500 sq ft, especially if you want its night light and sound features. Choose Large Room for a larger connected space within its up-to-1,000-sq-ft claim. These are manufacturer coverage claims. Check the room with a hygrometer; neither model's documented Auto Mode lets you select a humidity target.

Does Canopy Auto Mode measure humidity?

The documented Auto Mode uses a light sensor: low fan speed during the day and medium at night. The manuals also show manual fan settings and a water sensor that can restart airflow while the tray or filter remains wet. Neither feature establishes a selectable humidity target. Use a separate hygrometer; EPA says not to humidify above 50 percent relative humidity.

Do Bedside 2.0 filters fit the Canopy Large Room humidifier?

No. Canopy lists its Humidifier Filter 2.0 for all versions of the Bedside and Nursery humidifiers and explicitly excludes Large Room. Large Room needs the separate Large Humidifier Filter. The two families both specify replacement every 45 days, which does not make them interchangeable. Match the device family and package quantity before choosing a one-time purchase or recurring delivery.

Does a Canopy humidifier produce white dust?

Both models use evaporation and Canopy permits tap water. EPA says evaporative humidifiers are not expected to disperse substantial amounts of minerals, unlike the ultrasonic and impeller types it associates with mineral dispersal and white dust. That supports choosing evaporation for this concern, rather than promising zero deposits everywhere. Follow the cleaning instructions and replace the matching filter.

Related guides